Preserving "A Fair Chance For a Free People" - Karl E. Mundt

Judiciary Committee

RG III Legislation - Judiciary Committee 1949-1972
37 Hollinger document boxes (#590-626)

This file shows Senator Mundt's dedication to protecting the rights of free citizens. His introduction and support (or opposition) to legislation in this area made him a controversial Senator. He advocated the anti-communist Mundt-Nixon bill, which became the McCarran Act and the Subversive Activities Control Bill which became the Mundt-Ferguson Bill (#2311). His attention was drawn to Electoral College reform, political realignment of the Republican and Democratic parties, extension of Social Security to all Americans rather than only those on a payroll, Equal Rights Amendment for women in 1949, American Good Government Society, occupation forces in Japan not being allowed to marry Japanese women or to bring them to America, gun control laws, labor relations, civil rights, juvenile delinquency, and obscenity and pornography legislation.

The Alexander Hamilton Bicentennial Commission 1955-1958 file is here. Mundt was chairman 1956-1958. In 1957, in honor of the Alexander Hamilton Bicentennial, a convention of high school juniors and seniors was held in Washington DC and Philadelphia PA. Information about the convention and the delegates may be found on the "Alexander Hamilton Bicentennial Convention - 1957" web site.

In addition, Mundt served on The Theodore Roosevelt Centennial Commission 1956-1959.

Abdnor, James
Alexander, Herbert E.
Alfange, Dean
Allott, Gordon Llewellyn
Anderson, Clinton Presba
Arens, Richard Friederich
Baker, Milton Grafley
Barnes, E. Richard
Bartlett, Edmund L.
Bayh, Birch Evan
Beesley, Eugene Nevin
Bell, Jeffrey
Bennett, Wallace Foster
Bible, Alan Harvey
Boe, Nils A.
Brandstra, Bert
Bricker, John William
Brown, James C.
Brown, Katherine Kennedy
Burke, Edward Raymond
Butler, John Marshall
Byrd, Harry Flood
Byrd, Robert Carlyle
Call, Joseph L.
Cannon, Howard Walter
Capehart, Homer Earl
Carlson, Frank
Case, Clifford Philip
Case, Francis Higbee
Celler, Emanuel
Chavez, Dennis
Chelf, Frank Leslie
Clark, Joseph Sill
Cohen, Sheldon Stanley
Collier, John L.
Cooper, John Sherman
Coudert, Frederic Rene, Jr.
Curtice, Harlow H.
Curtis, Carl Thomas
Daniel, Price
Dempsey, John Joseph
Dennis, David Worth
Dirksen, Everett McKinley
Dodd, Thomas Joseph
Dole, Robert Joseph
Dominick, Peter Hoyt
Douglas, Paul Howard
Dworshak, Henry Clarence
Eagleton, Thomas Francis
Eastland, James Oliver
Eisenhower, Dwight D.
Ervin, Samuel James, Jr.
Farrar, Frank Leroy
Feerick, John David
Fong, Hiram Leong
Ford, Gerald R., Jr.
Fortas, Abe
Foss, Joseph J.
Fulbright, J. William (James)
Gardner, Archibald K.
Goldwater, Barry Morris
Gore, Albert Arnold
Graham, Fred Patterson
Grant, Alan
Griffin, Robert Paul
Gubbrud, Archie
Gwinn, Ralph Waldo
Hansen, Clifford Peter
Harlow, Bryce Nathaniel
Hart, Philip Aloysius
Hawkes, Albert Wahl
Haynsworth, Clement Furman, Jr.
Hearst, William Randolph, Jr.
Hechler, Kenneth
Hennings, Thomas Carey, Jr.
Hoffa, James Riddle
Holland, Spessard Lindsey
Hollings, Ernest Frederick
Hoover, J. Edgar
Hornig, Donald Frederick
Hruska, Roman Lee
Hughes, Harold Everett
Humphrey, M. George
Inouye, Daniel Ken
Ives, Irving McNeil
Jackson, Henry Martin
Jacob, Bruno E.
Javits, Jacob Koppel
Jenner, William Ezra
Johnson, Claudia Alta
Johnson, Lady Bird
Johnson, Lyndon Baines
Johnson, Norman W.
Johnston, Olin D.
Juliana, James Nicholas
Karpatkin, Marvin
Katzenbach, Nicholas DeBelleville
Keating, Kenneth Barnard
Kefauver, Carey Estes
Kennedy, David M.
Kennedy, Edward Moore
Kennedy, Robert F. (Francis)
Kilgore, Harley Martin
King, Joseph T.
Kneip, Richard Francis
Knowland, William Fife
Kofmehl, Kenneth
Krock, Arthur
Kuchel, Thomas Henry
Langer, William
Lerner, Max
Lewis, Fulton, Jr.
Lewis, Ted
Long, Russell Billiu
Lowenthal, R.
Luce, Phillip Abbott
Lyons, Daniel
MacArthur, Douglas
Magnuson, Warren Grant
Malone, George Wilson
Mann, James Robert
Mansfield, Michael Joseph
Marshall, Burke
Martin, Edward Otis
Matlock, Hugh
McClellan, John Little
McGovern, George Stanley
Miller, Jack Richard
Miller, Norma Reno
Mitchell, John Newton
Mondale, Walter Frederick
Monroney, A. S. Mike (Almer Stillwell)
Morton, Thruston Ballard
Moss, Frank Edward
Moyer, Robert A.
Muskie, Edmund Sixtus
Nixon, Richard Milhous
O'Mahoney, Joseph Christopher
Patton, James George
Patton, Thomas F.
Pearson, James Blackwood
Percy, Charles Harting
Peirce, Neal
Price, Maurice T.
Proxmire, William
Pulliam, Eugene Smith
Rayburn, Sam Taliaferro
Reed, H. Clay
Reifel, Benjamin "Ben"
Reuther, Walter P.
Rodino, Peter Wallace, Jr.
Rogovin, Charles H.
Rooney, John J.
Roosevelt, Eleanor
Russell, Richard Brevard, Jr.
Saltonstall, Leverett
Scott, Hugh, Jr.
Smathers, George A.
Smith, Margaret Chase
Sourwine, J. G.
Sparkman, John Jackson
Stennis, John Cornelius
Stevens, Theodore Fulton
Stimpson, Henry L.
Stokes, Donald Elkinton
Streit, Clarence Kirshman
Summerfield, Arthur E.
Talmadge, Herman Eugene
Thurmond, Strom
Tower, John Gordon
Tydings, Joseph Davies
Vandiver, George B.
Walter, Francis Eugene
Watkins, Arthur Vivian
Welker, Herman
Wells, Kenneth Dale
Wiley, Alexander
Williams, J. Harvie
Williams, John J.
Williams, Lawrence Gordon
Willis, Edwin Edward
Wilmerding, Lucius
Yarborough, Ralph Webster
Young, Milton Ruben

Alexander Hamilton Bi-Centennial Commission
American Good Government Society
Anti-Gun Control
Anti-Trust and Monopoly
Arms Control
Carswell Nomination
Civil Rights
Connally Reservation
Constitutional Amendments, Subcommittee on
Constitutional Rights, Subcommittee on
Council Against Communist Aggression
Crime Control
District of Columbia
Electoral College Reform
Electoral College System
Foreign Affairs
Foreign Aid
Freedom Academy
Freedom Commission
General Welfare Federation of America, Inc.
Gun Control
Hoover Commission
Immigration and Naturalization Service
Indian Affairs, Bureau of
Internal Security, Subcommittee on
Joint Committee on Organization of Congress
Justice, Department of
Juvenile Delinquency, Subcommittee to Investigate
Labor-Management Relations
Law Enforcement Assistance
Mundt-Coudert Amendment
Mundt-Nixon Bill
National Labor Relations Board
North Atlantic Treaty Organization
Obscenity and Pornography Commission
Organized Crime
Orlando Committee (The)
Otepka, Otto F. (Case)
Political Re-alignment
Poor People's March
Public Affairs Committee
"Road to Revolution: Communist Guerilla Warfare in the U.S.A."
Senate Rules Committee
Subversive Activities
Subversive Activities Control Board
Theodore Roosevelt Centennial Commission
Un-American Activities Committee
U.S. Court of Appeals
Vietnam Moratorium
Young Republicans     

More items are available. Please contact the Archives.
SD State Seal

© Karl E. Mundt Historical & Educational Foundation and Archives, All rights reserved. Karl Mundt Library and Learning Commons
Dakota State University
820 N. Washington, Madison, SD 57042
Phone: (605) 256-5203